This site has been archived on (2014/11/13)

Navigation path

President Juncker started his term of office on 1 November 2014. Visit the Juncker Commission pages.


Jean-Claude JUNCKER

Forming the new Commission

The candidate for President of the Commission is proposed to the European Parliament by the European Council that decides by qualified majority and taking into account the elections to the European Parliament.

The Commission President is then elected by the European Parliament by a majority of its component members (which corresponds to at least 376 out of 751 votes).

Following this election, the President-elect selects the 27 other members of the Commission, on the basis of the suggestions made by Member States. The final list of Commissioners-designate has then to be agreed between the President-elect and the Council. The Commission as a whole needs the Parliament's consent.

The Commissioners-designate will be assessed by the European Parliament committees from 29 September to 7 October.

More information and live-streaming